Eat Mor Fail

I am a Husky of Northeastern, as were both of my parents before me. I’ve held for several years now that attending Northeastern was one of the best decisions of my life thus far, as it was on Huntington Ave. and on co-op that I learned the skills that have made me what I am today.

It’s with this in mind that I recoil at the news that my beloved alma mater plans to install a Chick-Fil-A in the Curry Student Center. For those who might not follow the politics of this company closely, Chick-Fil-A has a history of donating significant sums to anti-gay organizations, including the Fellowship of Christian Athletes (which decried the “impure lifestyle” of the LGBT community), Focus on the Family (which has been labeled a hate group by the Southern Poverty Law Center), and Exodus International (a company that works to correct gay behavior).

This is my school, the place where I figured out what I was good at, where I discovered the power and flexibility of the written word, and, in fact, where I first came out of the closet. This is my school saying to me, “tuition money from the generations that follow you will go to a business that actively supports ‘correcting’ gay behavior.” This is my school saying to me, “your life and your lifestyle are less important to us than the money this company offers.”

I don’t accept that.

I refuse to believe that Northeastern is actively antagonizing the LGBT community. More likely, there were several layers of bureaucracy (we’re the home of the “NU shuffle”, the redirecting of helpless students from one office to the next) that didn’t think through the implications of accepting Chick-Fil-A as a vendor.

What’s worse, though, is that I’m not the first to address this. These issues were raised at the student government meeting in which the plans were announced, but the concerned students were shouted down by the Vice President for Student Affairs. Organizations can choose which other organizations they support, the VP is reported to have said.

Do LGBT affairs not fall under “student affairs”? Is it in your job description to represent and respect only some of the students at your school, ignoring others?

I will not quietly let my school say my community and I are less important than a few bigoted dollars. If Northeastern does not correct this decision, I will never donate another dime to the institution, and I will work tirelessly to convince others to do the same.

I am a Husky of Northeastern, and I have my Husky dignity. Would that my school still had some.

If you would like to sign a petition to Northeastern about this, you can find one here.

(editor’s note: While this post isn’t explicitly about soccer, Chick Fil A is a personal hot button for me as well, and Adam’s views reflect the furor that will come from this site if we see their logo across the front the jersey of one of our beloved MLS teams. — cjb)

Posted on 02/16/2012, in Issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I understand how you feel! The University of North Texas currently has a Chik Fil A installed in the student union, and I kinda cringe everytime I see people eating it because i know where that money is going.

    I haven’t eaten at Chik Fil A in almost 3 years now, and once i quit eating there i realized how bad their food was anyways

Leave a Reply

